top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureClaret M.

Akãchará (interview)


Akãchará is an underground artist that is able to

successfully navigate from one genre to another,

going from rap to trap, soul, hip-hop and even

Afrolatin Futurism.


Akãchará is originally from White Plains, New York 

  but is currently based in Madrid, Spain.

Although her vocals seem to be a crossover

between Christina Aguilera and Lauryn Hill, her voice and music have something very unique and captivating since it is influenced by so many different genres and cultures.


We had the chance to ask Akãchará about her beginnings and development in music to get a closer look at her creative process.


Interview:

1) At what age did you start to sing?

- I probably started to sing at the age of 7, I would usually try to imitate the vocals of Christina Aguilera, P!nk and even Eminem.


2) What type of music have you done in the past, and what type of music are you doing right now?

I've always done karaoke stuff which means any genre in popular music, a lot of Latin styles and rancheras too because my family is Latin. I even did a dancehall reggae demo which was my first ever when I was very young but the mp3 file got lost, so that album never came out.

Now I am focusing a lot in doing collaborations with different HipHop solo artists and producers, most of my material is very influenced by improvisation.

My favorite style of composition is creating instrumentals and then improvising on top of them, I just want to focus on making singles for now and maybe later an album.


3) Would you rather do the whole composition, production, and arrangements by yourself, or do you prefer collaborating with other people?

Although I'd definitely rather do it all by myself, I think you have to be humble and know where your limits are as an artist, and the good thing about working with a producer is that it is usually teamwork.


4) Are you 100% self-taught when it comes to voice technique?

- Yes, actually I took my first class yesterday, and I'm never gonna go again.. I just felt a bit awkward because it was a group thing and I kinda felt embarrassed.


5) Have you ever written your own lyrics?

- The first song I ever wrote was in 4th grade and it was about a bumblebee, I've always written my own songs. Since then I feel like I've always been just naturally drawn to singing about life and experiences.


Listen to Akãchará's music:






55 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page