top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureClaret M.

Artist Of The Week: Worry Party


The moment I heard this band I knew I had to talk about it.

English band, Worry Party captured my attention from the first song, and as I kept digging in their music it only kept getting better.


I first came across their album "Souvenirs" and every piece in this EP sounds as unique as the last one. Layerings of music constantly evolving at perfect speed accompanied by the soothing voices of Steven Chell and Laura Hilton.


"Magenta" is their latest EP which was released in May, this one has experimented with some very interesting new elements including interesting rhythmic and percussion patterns.


One of the things I like the most is the level of experimentation and freedom yet structure that you can hear in Worry Party's music.

They use traditional instruments such as keys, guitar (Chris Old), and bass (Glenn Whitfield), but all the work done with sound textures with the help of melodic drones and homemade samples are what give it an exciting turn.


Personally, the concept reminds me of a modern approach to Brian Eno's famous "Music for Airports" album and even Lana del Rey sometimes, but amongst some of their actual influences there is Bright Eyes, Death Cab for Cutie and Yeah Yeah Yeahs.


If you have the time I highly recommend to give Worry Party a listen:


To read more about them:


21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page