top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureClaret M.

Nicki Minaj cancels performance at Jeddah World Fest


Nicki Minaj was suppose to be headline at the Jeddah World Fest on the 18th of July, but this Tuesday Minaj gave this statement to the Associated press “After careful reflection I have decided to no longer move forward with my scheduled concert at Jeddah World Fest. While I want nothing more than to bring my show to fans in Saudi Arabia, after better educating myself on the issues, I believe it is important for me to make clear my support for the rights of women, the LGBTQ community and freedom of expression,”


Saudi Arabia still has a lot of problems regarding gender segregation specially affecting women and the LGBTQ community, although there have been major advances such as allowing women to drive but there is still a long list of problems left.


There are still some international artists performing at the Fest such as Steve Aoki and Liam Payne, there was a statement issued by the Human Rights Foundation asking other performers to pull out. After Minaj pulled out she was praised by the organization “This is what leadership looks like. We are grateful to Nicki Minaj for her inspiring and thoughtful decision to reject the Saudi regime’s transparent attempt at using her for a public relations stunt,” said the president of the Human Rights Foundation, Thor Halvorssen.




1 view0 comments
bottom of page